Abuse and Assault

Brand-new? This is the place for your questions and discussions on any and all topics, with fellow users or staff, while you get your feet wet.
Brave1
not a newbie
Awesomeness Quotient: My inner strength.
Primary language: English
Pronouns: she/her

Abuse and Assault

Unread post by Brave1 »

I am a newbie, thus I am posting here instead of in the correct forum.
I am wondering what others do on the difficult nights when it is impossible to sleep. I just survived an all-nighter, so any suggestions would be appreciated.
Redskies
previous staff/volunteer
Pronouns: they/them or she/her
Sexual identity: bisexual/queer/pansexual

Re: Abuse and Assault

Unread post by Redskies »

Welcome to Scarleteen, Brave1.

If I can't sleep because my brain is stuck in some traumatic thoughts or feelings, I go for gentle distraction. Things that are enough to occupy the mind but not demanding, and that are pleasant and safe-feeling. For me, that's maybe some children's or YA books, or an interesting but laid-back game.

Have you seen people's thoughts on this thread: http://www.scarleteen.com/bb/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=184 ? It might have more of what you're looking for.

Have you had any trained support around the abuse/assault? Developing more tools to deal with the intrusion into sleep is usually really helpful in the long-run, as is having somewhere to process what happened and how we feel, as and when we're ready.
The kyriarchy usually assumes that I am the kind of woman of whom it would approve. I have a peculiar kind of fun showing it just how much I am not.
Brave1
not a newbie

Unread post by Brave1 »

Yes, I do have a trained therapist who specializes in trauma. We are working on the sleep issue, among other things. But having suggestions from others is helpful as well. Thanks for the link.
Heather
scarleteen founder & director
Awesomeness Quotient: I have been a sex educator for over 25 years!
Primary language: english
Pronouns: they/them