Problems with the pill and 'boyfriend'

Any questions or discussions that you ONLY want to discuss with our staff or volunteers.
(Users: please do not reply to other users here.)
zooeym
not a newbie

Problems with the pill and 'boyfriend'

Unread post by zooeym »

Hi, this is my first time on here so apologies if I'm using it wrong.
My problem is pretty complex but here goes. First, my contraception problem: I started the pill about 6 months ago (Microgynon 30), was fine on it for a while until the 5th pack I started getting awful anxiety, which turned into depression. I stopped, scared, and went back to normal pretty much immediately. I had a break from the pill of just over a week before starting Mercilon a week ago today, a lower dose one with a different progesterone. I was fine the first few days but for 3 days now I have been experiencing pretty much constant hunger: it's not fun, I'm hungry 24/7 no matter how much I eat, I can't concentrate and it's hard to sleep. So far no other symptoms but I hate the idea of putting artificial hormones into my body, and with my history of depression I'm worried I will get it again. On my week off from BCP I felt so much sharper, more confident, my appetite was like a normal person's (I realised that Microgynon had been increasing my appetite too - I couldn't go 2 hours without eating). i felt so much more like myself. I am thin so weight gain is not a huge issue, but it's just horrible to feel like this.

So my problem is, should I ride out this pill and hope the side effects go away? I'm not sure I can manage a whole month, let alone the 3 they recommend before switching.