I don't want to trigger him (trigger warning for suicide, depression, and anxiety)

Brand-new? This is the place for your questions and discussions on any and all topics, with fellow users or staff, while you get your feet wet.
allilovesbooks
Awesomeness Quotient: I'm very intelligent!
Primary language: English
Pronouns: She/her
Sexual identity: I'm a heteromantic gray-asexual

I don't want to trigger him (trigger warning for suicide, depression, and anxiety)

Unread post by allilovesbooks »

Intro
Hello Scarleteen! I've browsed the site at various points, but I've finally got an account. Unfortunately, the reason is because of a complicated situation...
Me
I'm pretty privileged, as far as things go. I'm an upper-middle class white ciswoman with a supportive family. I'm in my fourth year of a five-year college program. I've never dated, and I've had some crushes, but nothing ever developed (which was good, because in my mid-teens I internalized some toxic messages about relationships).
My issues
That's a horribly ableist (internally ableist) way to put this, unfortunately! I have ADHD and suffer from chronic anxiety. I've also dealt with depression in the past. Despite this, I've never experienced suicidal idealation. I wouldn't mention this except for the topic at hand.
How we met
I met Sam (not his real name) in my second year of college, at a meeting for the Catholic group on campus. I was already friendly with the members, so I assumed he was a freshman and new to the group. He wasn't, being a year ahead of me, but it seemed like he wasn't around much. He seemed like a nice person. A comment he made implied that he had gone through mental health issues in the past, including suicidal thoughts.
Hanging out