I'm not happy with my body

Any questions or discussions that you ONLY want to discuss with our staff or volunteers.
(Users: please do not reply to other users here.)
shannon_123
Awesomeness Quotient: I'm a nursing student
Primary language: English
Pronouns: Shannon
Sexual identity: Heterosexual

I'm not happy with my body

Unread post by shannon_123 »

I am 19 years old and recently I have been told by someone I work with that I'd need to lose weight and now every time I look in the mirror I just see a fat belly and no curves. I am around 5'5 or 5'6 and I weigh 115lb or 11.071 stone and my bmi tells me I am overweight for my height. I have sat crying all night because I don't want to be fat or counted as overweight. I've tried dieting but my parents don't like me dieting. I have stretch marks on my breasts and thighs also which is down to rapid weight gain. I wish I could be thin
Heather
scarleteen founder & director
Awesomeness Quotient: I have been a sex educator for over 25 years!
Primary language: english
Pronouns: they/them
Sexual identity: queery-queer-queer

Re: I'm not happy with my body

Unread post by Heather »

Welcome to the boards, Shannon. :)

I'm really sorry to hear that that person told you anything about what they think you should do when it comes to your body. It's not their place to do that: their body is the only one they need to be making these kinds of decisions or statements about. I'm doubly sorry this hit you so hard.