Boundaries?

Questions and discussions about relationships: girlfriends, boyfriends, lovers, partners, friends, family or other intimate relationships in your lives.
RocketGrrl
Awesomeness Quotient: I like to read . . . a lot
Primary language: English
Pronouns: She / her
Sexual identity: its complicated

Boundaries?

Unread post by RocketGrrl »

Hi everyone,

I'm not good with boundaries. And I don't want to overstep or put others on the spot. Last Summer I worked for my mother's boyfriend. "Boyfriend" is probably an understatement. We lived with him for four years and he asked her to marry him a couple of times. He's the closest thing I've ever had to a father. He treated us really well. She's an (unkind word deleted by me) for not accepting his proposal. (She just doesn't trust anyone. I think because she was abused for a prolonged time as a child.)

I've spoken to him a few times since my mom took off. He has a business and always needs extra help in the Summer. I stayed over for a few weeks at the end of the season last year, AFTER my mom took off. (Then school started, and she demanded that I come "home". What a joke, his house was "home". She's lived in five places over the past nine months, and I rarely attended school.)

I've heard from others that I'm close to that he has a "new" girlfriend who doesn't act like a (another unkind term). I'm quite sure that he's better off without my mom. And my mom is full of (excrement) saying that she broke up with him because I'm "becoming a young woman" and I "shouldn't be alone with him". (I mean, that's EXACTLY what she did: Just leave me at his house with him when she ran off.)

He's talked about his business, said he's hiring, but he hasn't specifically asked me. I don't know if he's just giving me an update or dropping a hint that I could ask. I mean, I could just ask anyway. But the worst thing would not be for him to say "no".