Qlaira and How It Works?

Questions and discussion about contraception, safer sex, STIs, sexual healthcare and other sexual health issues.
TheConfusedOne
not a newbie
Awesomeness Quotient: I'm A Rider. Nuff Said.
Primary language: English
Pronouns: she/her
Sexual identity: Bi-Curious

Qlaira and How It Works?

Unread post by TheConfusedOne »

Hi,

I've been using Qlaira for about a couple years now and only recently started being more adventurous in bed. Just got me wondering, exactly HOW does Qlaira work? I tried googling, but the results I got weren't very detailed or satisfactory answers. Like one website says it "work mainly by tricking your body into thinking that ovulation has already happened". What does that mean?

Thanks
Sam W
scarleteen staff/volunteer
Awesomeness Quotient: I raise carnivorous plants
Primary language: english
Sexual identity: queer

Re: Qlaira and How It Works?

Unread post by Sam W »

Hi theconfusedone,

A good place to start is with this article, as it goes into more detail about how pills like Qlaira work:
Combined Oral Contraceptives (The Pill)
TheConfusedOne
not a newbie

Oh, I couldn't find that article, thanks.

Still a bit unsatisfied though. Like, if ovulation doesn't happen, what happens to the egg that was supposed to be released? Why would I still have ovulation symptoms as well? Why would the uterus lining not fall out earlier if there wasn't any egg to "expire" in the first place?
Heather
scarleteen founder & director
Awesomeness Quotient: I have been a sex educator for over 25 years!
Pronouns: they/them
Sexual identity: queery-queer-queer

Unread post by Heather »

Sounds like some of the issue is not understanding how menstruation works, and that it is about hormones -- and with the pill, synthetic versions to do different things -- not about what goes on with a given ovum. For example, lining is shed because of hormonal changes (and the pill mimics those to create a withdrawal bleed).

Check this out?